Monmouth Barracudas take fourth at Hawaii Invitational

first_imgThe Monmouth Barracudas swim team, which trains at Fort Monmouth and the Jewish Community Center in Deal, recently returned from competing at the 56th annual Keo Nakama Invitational at the University of Hawaii on July 2, 3 and 4. The Barracudas, coached by Paul Buerck, finished in fourth place overall out of 27 teams. Teams in the meet were from San Francisco Recreation and Parks, Manhoben Swim Club (Guam), FOG City Hammerheads (San Francisco), University of San Francisco — Koret Youth Swim Club, Seal Beach Swim Club, Pacifica Sea Lions (California), The Flying Fish, AquaWolves (Colorado), Kona Aquatics, Maui Gold, Manukai Aquatics (Guam), International Buccaneers (Japan), Manoa Aquatics, Champaign County YMCA (Illinois), and the Hawaii teams: Pearl Harbor Aquatics, Iolani Swim Team, Pearl City Aquatics, Hickam Hurricanes, Rainbow Aq., Maui Swim Club, Buenaventura Swim Club, Punahou Aq., Fullerton Aq. Sports Team, Almaden Swim & Racquet, Temple Area Swim Club and Iolani St. (Hawaii). The Barracudas had outstanding performances from several swimmers. Among the meet highlights were Pavel Milke, of Rumson, taking first in the 100 free, second in 50 free, and third in the 100 fly and 100 back. He finished second overall in the high point award in his age group. Jenna Seitz, of Eatontown, took third in the 50 and 100 free, while Jordan Crosby, of Middletown, took first in the 200 fly and second in the 100 fly. In addition, Eddie Carnes, of Tinton Falls, took first in the 100 back. Among the Barricuda swimmers to record top 10 finishes are: Christine Bell, Taylor Crosby, Dan Haaren, Jessica Havard, Allison Marino, Katherine Marino, Kirsten Marino, Chris Urbine, Caitlin O’Donnell, Roberto Nieves, Kayla Hanke, Alexis Ferraris, Kristen Stahl, Kristen George, Caitlin MacNeal, Melissa Chirlin, Elizabeth Luick, Kaitlyn Testa, Melissa Calt, Garrison Rufa, Matthew Goldfarb, Allison Russoniello, Courtney Benedict, Will Cullen, Caroline Herman, Courtney Sergeant and Kacie Anjoubault. The team members are: (from Middletown) Christine Bell, Jordan and Taylor Crosby, Jessica Havard, Elizbeth Luick, Allison and Katherine Marino, Roberto Nieves, Caitlin O’Donnell, Allison Russoniello, Christine Smith, Cassandra Stabbert, Kristen Stahl, Christopher Urbine, and Will Cullen; (from Ocean Township) Kaitlyn Testa, Kacie Anjoubalt, Elizabeth and Melissa Calt, Jonathan Goldfarb, Kayla and Kerra Hanke, Kirsten Schroeter, Courtney Benedict, Elizabeth Luick and Colleen Tansey; (from Tinton Falls) Eddie Carnes; (from Marlboro) Kristen George; (from Matawan) Melissa Chirlin; (from Rumson and Fair Haven) Craig Haaren, Pavel Milke and Caitlin MacNeal; (from Little Silver) Alexia Ferraris, Garrison Rufa and Courtney Sergeant; and (from Eatontown) Jenna Seitz.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *