Lalit Upadhyay, Rupinder Pal Singh return to men’s hockey team for Belgium tour

first_imgLalit Upadhyay, Rupinder Pal Singh return to men’s hockey team for Belgium tourHockey India has announced the 20-member squad in which Manpreet Singh will lead the team. Rupinder Pal Singh and Lalit Kumar Upadhyay are back in the squad.advertisement Next Indo-Asian News Service New DelhiSeptember 20, 2019UPDATED: September 20, 2019 16:31 IST Team India in action (File Photo: IANS)Midfielder Manpreet Singh will lead the Indian men’s hockey team in their upcoming tour of Belgium from September 26 to October 3.Hockey India on Friday announced the 20-member squad in which it named defender Harmanpreet Singh as vice-captain for the tour in which India will play three matches against Belgium and two matches against Spain.Lalit Kumar Upadhyay will be making a comeback to the side after last year’s World Cup in Odisha, while Rupinder Pal Singh, who missed out on the Olympic Test Event, also makes a return to the team.Goalkeeper P.R. Sreejesh joins the side after being rested for the Olympic Test Event while Krishan B Pathak is the other goalkeeper in the team.”All the players in the squad complement each other very well and we are hoping that the team continues its good form,” said chief coach Graham Reid.”We are still looking to fine-tune a few aspects of our game before we leave for Belgium.The Australian said that the tour of Belgium will be the perfect preparation for the Olympic Qualifiers match against Russia in Odisha.”Belgium are a strong team and if we perform well against them in their own backyard then the team will gain a lot of confidence ahead of the FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers match against Russia. This tour of Belgium will serve as the perfect preparation before the all-important FIH Olympic Qualifiers. We are expecting a tough challenge from Spain as well.”Indian team:Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh, Krishan B PathakadvertisementDefenders: Harmanpreet Singh (vice-captain), Surender Kumar, Birendra Lakra, Varun Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Gurinder Singh, Khadangbam Kothajit Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh.Midfielders: Manpreet Singh (captain), Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Nilakanta SharmaForwards: Mandeep Singh, SV Sunil, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Ramandeep Singh, Simranjeet Singh, Akashdeep Singh.Also Read | Rani Rampal to captain Indian women’s hockey team on tour of EnglandAlso see:For sports news, updates, live scores and cricket fixtures, log on to Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for Sports news, scores and updates.Get real-time alerts and all the news on your phone with the all-new India Today app. Download from Post your comment Do You Like This Story? Awesome! Now share the story Too bad. Tell us what you didn’t like in the comments Posted byNitin Kumar Tags :Follow Manpreet SinghFollow India hockey captainlast_img read more

Continue reading